A Quick One on Guitars, Exes, and Slash

How can you expect me to beat that? I can't even wear the hat.

I’m always carrying a guitar yet I’m not that good with playing the guitar. I love playing the guitar, though.

Fact: It’s kind of hard to feel good playing the guitar with your girlfriend singing when her exes were — are rock stars.

Times like these though, I try to think of this useful defensive logic when comparing things. It goes like this:

  • If I can compare my looks with that other guy in the office, then why can’t I compare my looks to Aga Muhlach? Let’s go a step further: why not compare my looks to, er, David Beckham?
  • If I can compare my salary to that other guy in the office, then why can’t I compare my salary to a random OFW in Dubai? Let’s go a step further: why not compare my salary to Bill Gates?

Comparison stops somewhere and you realize levels are arbitrary. You adjust them according to your needs, to make you feel good. Well, in this case, I just want to forget about comparison. The fact is I love playing my guitar even if I can only play simple songs.

I mean, if it’s really necessary to compare my guitar skills to those exes, why not compare my guitar skills to Slash?

You’re right. I’m trying hard to convince myself that I’m good enough.

6 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

6 responses to “A Quick One on Guitars, Exes, and Slash

  1. CHEMAE

    Our world will be a better place without standards and points of comparison. After all, they were your girlfriend’s exes not because they were good at playing the guitar.

  2. moonwalkerwiz

    You’re right. Insecure lang. Pero hindi lang ako ang kilala kong insecure. :))

  3. CHEMAE

    Dinamay pa ako o. Hahaha. 😀 At least hindi ko nibo-blog. Hahahaha. :))

  4. moonwalkerwiz

    Ang cute naman nung word na “nibo-blog.” :))

  5. CHEMAE

    Alam mo, huwag ka nang insekyora. Mas nage-enjoy naman akong kumanta kasama ka e, because you play the songs I want to sing. Pasensyahan nalang. Gaya mo, I love singing even if I can only sing simple songs.

    I love you. 🙂

  6. moonwalkerwiz

    Ok, hindi na. Konti na lang. 🙂 Ikaw rin ha, wag na masyadong insecure. :))

    I love you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

