The Global Economy Falls Into Recession and I’m on Facebook

I’m watching YouTube and surfing Facebook, Multiply, and other websites while hungry and determined applicants take exams to get hired by the company. The irony of this unproductive life is sometimes overwhelming.

I’m still floating, still waiting for a client to descend from the heavens and save me from joblessness. It is pathetic and I don’t deny it one bit.

But what is the better thing to do? I’m still getting paid to do the boring things I do. No one seems to be bothered by the fact that I’m watching Pupil’s music videos for eight hours. They pay me the same thing, so why strive harder and look for a job out there?

I have a month or more of client-less surfing and cyberslacking (if you can even call it that) before the company chucks me out. I say enjoy the relaxed, stress-free life rather than seek a new job.

I’m aware that my reasoning here stinks, especially to people who are dedicated to their careers and to their future. I’ve always been cool when it comes to my career though, so I’m not easily bothered by these things. Jobs will always be out there. My e-mail is still filled with ads for writing jobs. I’m getting one of those jobs when the company finally decides to throw me out. Until then, I’ll gladly use their free and fast Internet connection.

My resume should get me somewhere. It should give me my bread. I try not to worry, and I really don’t, most of the time.

There are times when I feel like I’m walking leisurely in a field of land mines or I’m rowing a small boat in shark-infested waters. The global economy is ailing, people are losing their jobs, homes and getting hungry, while I sit here, updating my status on Facebook. Worse, when there’s nothing better to do, I spend my lunch break in the mall. Yes, I’m malling and surfing as the world crumbles down.

And today, I feel kind of guilty that I’m so relaxed when all around me, these applicants are really putting their brains to work to answer the test. The guilt is not enough to push me to find a new job later, though. No, I’ll definitely surf some more later.

The irony of this unproductive life is sometimes overwhelming.

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Random Thoughts

4 responses to “The Global Economy Falls Into Recession and I’m on Facebook

  1. magnifika

    I am still here because I love ________. Hohoho.

  2. magnifika

    I am still here because I love the company. Hohoho.

Leave a Reply

