The Complexity of Coolness

Multicolored lights slice through the darkness.
Sweat splashes through the thin air in some
Headache-inducing bar that pulls brains out of ears!

I picture such a thing in the embers of the dying cigarette stick,
With its fire throbbing violently on the floor.
I stare at the complexity of coolness right in the eye,
Hang my head down like an insignificant man in the street.

How many words does it take to enter that door
So I can join in the laid-back musings of free, creative creatures?
How many rhymes do I have to invest
To match the haunting power of a song?

Failures strangle this cause full of wrong angles.
The coffee sheds off heat as I am captivated by defeat.
Oh, if I can only conquer histories with a qwerty keyboard!
If I can only grow groupies by fertilizing the floor with ink,
You might come with me somewhere crowds don’t dance,
Performers don’t prance! And then I’ll have my precious chance
To make your eyes look up at the ceiling to the beat of a sigh.

What should I do when I run out of magic tricks?
There should be shops where I could buy more awesomeness.
What should I do when I run dry of enchanted wit?
There should be plenty of inspiration in bitter dreams.

I’m an old fragile statue amidst booming, glowing towers,
And you are a spotlight that brings life to the night.
My eyes turn watery as I contemplate your deep love,
While your tongue shoots needles on automatic.
You carefully asked me what I am thinking.
I hesitantly said that I am merely listening.
Nothing else I could do but cower at past giants,
Admit that they deserved such enviable heartbeat.
I stare at the complexity of coolness right in the eye,
Hang my head down like an insignificant man in the street.

2 Comments

Filed under Love, Poems

2 responses to “The Complexity of Coolness

  1. magnifika

    Sssshhh. Tahana. *hug*

  2. moonwalkerwiz

    *singhot *hug *smile

Leave a Reply

