Great

Do I need to prove myself?

OK, allow me to prove myself.

I think I am great because I feel I am great.

Add to that the fact that today, I also feel great.

I feel I am great because I feel like others are lesser than me.

While it’s true that I feel great, I know others are still better than me.

But I’m still great.

Why? Because I feel great.

The actual basis is not that great but

You can always interpret it in a different way.

Those people that are better than me must be lesser than other people, too.

And under them would be me — who’s great —

And others who are lesser than me (who may also be great but I can’t vouch for them).

And then those that are greater than the people who are greater than me

Must be lesser than even greater people.

Wait.

Then are we all great?

If we’re all great, how come some of us are lesser than others?

How come some of us are greater than others?

Where does lesser end and greater begin?

Man, I went to great miles to ponder this

But still lesser than what other great men did.

Maybe the problem has to do with being a tad late

To say things that are of no great importance

To a world so used to greatness.

Then again, I sometimes think it has to do with a lack of space,

And also, at times, with the things I ate

This morning, for instance.

God, I hate that plate.

But that still doesn’t change what’s lesser and greater

Since all that’s already engraved deep into fate.

What a freakin’ waste.

Hmm.

So maybe none of us are great.

Great.

2 Comments

Filed under Poems, Random Thoughts

2 responses to “Great

  1. magnifika

    This reminds me of Desiderata:

    “If you compare yourself with others,
    you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.”

    Haha. 🙂

  2. moonwalkerwiz

    How dare you summarize my poem into three lines!! Hahahaha. 😀

Leave a Reply

