Blue Waffle Welcomes Me Back

pool

I’m on the 27th floor, writing newsletters for the company and blogs for myself.

It’s been almost a month now since I returned to the Blue Waffle Building. My comeback was mostly a silent operation since I didn’t want people to ask too many questions what happened to me. I appreciate some of the curiosity though and I’m glad that a few people actually care.

Three months ago, I wrote a very emotional blog on my farewell to the Blue Waffle Company and my friends here. Back then, I really thought everything was over for me in this company. No more clunky elevator rides, no more coffee and cigarette breaks beside the moldy pool, no more 5th and 27th floors. Still, I didn’t burn the last bridge I had with it. I couldn’t because I left my heart there.

Three months ago, everything was ready for a new career. I’ve overhauled my resume and was contacting friends for openings they have in their companies. Still, I couldn’t shake off the feeling that the story of my stay here was still not over.

See, I thought I was an excellent writer. There was just that one tiny problem that snowballed into a huge monster which swallowed me whole. I resigned because that was the only option left for me. If I had it my way though, I’d never leave as long as she’s there.

Chemae is the ultimate reason I wore my old polo shirts again and stepped into my old Chucks again, and climbed back the stairs to the musty building. Reason says that I should hate going back because of how I was chucked out, but that simply wasn’t the case. I longed for the day of my return because I longed to send a private message to her again saying, “Tara, labas tayo.” (“Come, let’s go outside.”) People perhaps won’t find it too easy to understand the deep need in me. They may think me irrational and overly dependent. I can’t deny that but the thing is — and this will remain true regardless of others’ opinions — the thing is, I’m very happy right now because I’m here, sitting on my chair, with her just 22 floors below me.

The two of us are still here. We watch each other’s backs and hold each other’s hands. Around us, the Cool Team is slowly disappearing from the Blue Waffle Building. Paul is about to leave, as well as Jie. It seems like we are becoming an endangered species.

Then again, maybe our stay here at the Blue Waffle Company is just a short phase of our life that we must accept. We will come and go in this building like regular employees who are always on the hunt for jobs, roaming the streets. Chemae herself will soon leave her work station to go to a faraway land across the seas. Maybe I’ll be the only one left here, pondering old times, thinking of her whenever I fill up another glass of cold water in the pantry.

Whatever happens, I’ll stay here for the time being. I may leave this building one day for good but that day is not today. In the meantime, I’ll take every opportunity I can to show the girl how much she means to me, and how much she reminds me of everything that is happy and bright, to make the second leg of my stay here at the Blue Waffle Building the greatest days of my life.

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Love

4 responses to “Blue Waffle Welcomes Me Back

  1. magnifika

    Welcome back, Marvin! 🙂 You’re a good man with a kind heart. Your friends and family are so lucky to have someone like you. You surely are the hottttest blessing I got (and I thought it was an all-expense paid trip to Singapore!). Lord thank you so much for the beautiful gift that is Marvin. Hehe. 🙂

    • moonwalkerwiz

      Aside from myself, you’re like the second person to describe me as “hot.” Hahahaha. I’ll always be beside you. The building itself will come crashing down but we’ll stay together. (Cheesy! Haha.) 😀

  2. dk

    epal ako! rawr

    i am rooting for the both of you! hehehe

Leave a Reply

