Top 10 Christmas Songs of a Self-Confessed Christmas Addict

I’m a sucker for everything Christmasy. I like Christmas trees, Santa Claus’ puffy red face on every poster and TV program, colorful lanterns and Christmas lights in front of everyone’s house, “Home Alone” reruns, that peculiar December cold that reminds you of Simbang Gabi. I love ’em. I really, really love them all with my childish heart.

But the things that I like the most about Christmas are the songs that fill up the airwaves when this season comes. Radio is just so much more bearable. Slowly, the emo and jologs crap you’ve been hearing all year round are replaced with good old-fashioned Christmas songs and carols that make you feel like a child again. At least that’s how I feel. When I hear Christmas songs, I feel like a child lost in a toy store. To me, there is just something about these songs that brings the “wonder of life” back to you. I feel innocent, fresh, in awe of how good people are, or how joyous life can be if only for a season.

So just to make it easier for me to access my most favorite Christmas songs, here are my Top 10. They include both foreign and OPM Christmas songs. It took some sharp detective skills to hunt down all of their MP3s on the Internet, too. Enjoy! 🙂

10. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Glenn Miller Orchestra)

 

 

You know Dasher and Dancer and Prancer and Vixen,
Comet and Cupid and Donder and Blitzen.,
But do you recall?
The most famous reindeer of all?
Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
Had a very shiny nose,
And if you ever saw it,
You would even say it glows.
All of the other reindeer
Used to laugh and call him names;
They never let poor Rudolph
Join in any reindeer games.

Then one foggy Christmas Eve,
Santa came to say,
Rudolph with your nose so bright,
Won’t you guide my sleigh tonight?

Then how the reindeer loved him
As they shouted out with glee,
Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer,
You’ll go down in history

9. Silver Bells (Dean Martin)

City sidewalks busy sidewalks .
Dressed in holiday style
In the air
There’s a feeling
of Christmas
Children laughing
People passing
Meeting smile after smile
And on ev’ry street corner you’ll hear

Silver bells silver bells
It’s Christmas time in the city
Ring a ling hear them sing
Soon it will be Christmas day

Strings of street lights
Even stop lights
Blink a bright red and green
As the shoppers rush
home with their treasures

Hear the snow crunch
See the kids bunch
This is Santa’s big scene
And above all this bustle
You’ll hear
Silver bells, silver bells
It’s Christmas time in the city
Ring-a-ling, hear them sing
Soon it will be Christmas day

8. Santa Ain’t Comin’ No Mo’ (Eraserheads)

I hate to burst your babble
Or rain on your parade
Coz you’ve gone through all the troubles
Preparations you have made

But I got a little news
It’s really not that good
I don’t wanna spoil your party
But I really think I should

You may have been naughty
You may have been nice
Well it doesn’t really matters at all
Throw your stockings right out of the window
Coz santa ain’t comin’ no mo’

We talk to him this morning
And he said he wasn’t well
Ol’ rudolph has a cold
His nose is running like hell

He doesn’t like your weather
And he really hates the press
He’d rather stay in bed
Than be your little town’s guest

7. White Christmas (Bing Crosby)

I’m dreaming of a white Christmas
Just like the ones I used to know
Where the treetops glisten,
and children listen
To hear sleigh bells in the snow

I’m dreaming of a white Christmas
With every Christmas card I write
May your days be merry and bright
And may all your Christmases be white

I’m dreaming of a white Christmas
With every Christmas card I write
May your days be merry and bright
And may all your Christmases be white

6. Pasko Na Sinta Ko (Gary Valenciano)

Pasko na sinta ko hanap-hanap kita
Bakit magtatampo iniwan ako

Kung mawawala ka sa piling ko sinta
Paano ang Pasko, inulila mo

Sayang sinta ang sinumpaan
At pagtitinginang tunay
Nais mo bang kalimutang ganap
Ang ating suyuan at galak

Kung mawawala ka sa piling ko sinta
Paano ang Paskong alay ko sa’yo

Sayang sinta ang sinumpaan
At pagtitinginang tunay
Nais mo bang kalimutang ganap
Ang ating suyuan at galak

Kung mawawala ka sa piling ko sinta
Paano ang paskong alay ko sa’yo

5. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (Jackson 5)

(kiss sound) Wow! Mommy’s kissing Santa Claus!
I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus
Underneath the mistletoe last night
She didn’t see me creep
Down the stairs to have a peep
She thought that I was tucked up
In my bedroom, fast asleep

Then I saw Mommy tickle Santa (tickle,tickle,Santa Claus) Claus
Underneath his beard so snowy white
Oh, what a laugh it would have been
If Daddy had only seen
Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night

He saw Mommy kissing(kissing,kissing) Santa Claus
I did! I really did see Mommy kissing Santa Claus
And I’m gonna tell my Dad
(bell sound)
Then I saw Mommy tickle Santa (tickle,tickle Santa Claus) Claus
Underneath his beard so snowy white
Oh, what a laugh it would have been
If Daddy had only seen
Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night

Oh, what a laugh it would have been
If Daddy had only seen
Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night

I did! I did! I really did see Mommy kissing Santa Claus
You gotta believe me! You just gotta believe me!
Come on, fellas, believe me! You just gotta believe me!(I told you ,I told you)

4. All I Want for Christmas Is You (Mariah Carey)

I don’t want a lot for Christmas
There’s just one thing I need
I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree
I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
All I want for Christmas is…
You

I don’t want a lot for Christmas
There’s just one thing I need
I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree
I don’t need to hang my stocking
There upon the fireplace
Santa Claus won’t make me happy
With a toy on Christmas day
I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
All I want for Christmas is you
You baby

I won’t ask for much this Christmas
I don’t even wish for snow
I’m just gonna keep on waiting
Underneath the mistletoe
I won’t make a list and send it
To the North Pole for Saint Nick
I won’t even stay awake to
Hear those magic reindeers click
‘Cause I just want you here tonight
Holding on to me so tight
What more can I do
Baby all I want for Christmas is you
Ooh baby
All the lights are shining
So brightly everywhere
And the sound of children’s
Laughter fills the air
And everyone is singing
I hear those sleigh bells ringing
Santa won’t you bring me the one I really need
Won’t you please bring my baby to me…

Oh I don’t want a lot for Christmas
This is all I’m asking for
I just want to see my baby
Standing right outside my door
Oh I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
Baby all I want for Christmas is…
You

3. Christmas In Our Hearts (Jose Mari Chan)

Whenever I see girls and boys
selling lanterns on the streets
i remember the Child
in the manger as He sleeps
wherever there are people
giving gifts, exchanging cards
i believe that Christmas
is truly in their hearts

[refrain]
Let’s light our Christmas trees
for a bright tomorrow
where nations are at peace
and all are one in God

[chorus]
Let’s sing Merry Christmas
and a happy holiday
this season, may we never forget
the love we have for Jesus
let Him be the One to guide us
as another new year starts
and may the spirit of Christmas
be always in our hearts

In every prayer and every song
the community unites
celebrating the birth
of our Savior, Jesus Christ

let love, like that starlight
on that first Christmas morn
lead us back to the manger
where Christ the Child was born

So, come let us rejoice
come and sing a Christmas carol
with one big joyful voice
proclaim the name of the Lord!

[repeat chorus 2x]

2. Last Christmas (Billie Piper)

Chorus:

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day, You gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day, You gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Once bitten and twice shy
I keep my distance but you still catch my eye
Tell me baby do you recognise me?
Well it’s been a year, it doesn’t surprise me

(Happy Christmas!) I wrapped it up and sent it
With a note saying “I Love You” I meant it
Now I know what a fool I’ve been
But if you kissed me now I know you’d fool me again

Chorus

(Oooh. Oooh Baby)

A crowded room, friends with tired eyes
I’m hiding from you and your soul of ice
My God I thought you were someone to rely on
Me? I guess I was a shoulder to cry on
A face on a lover with a fire in his heart
A man undercover but you tore me apart
Oooh Oooh
Now I’ve found a real love you’ll never fool me again

Chorus

A face on a lover with a fire in his heart
(Gave you my heart)
A man undercover but you tore me apart
Next year
I’ll give it to someone, I’ll give it to someone special
special
someone
someone
I’ll give it to someone, I’ll give it to someone special
who’ll give me something in return
I’ll give it to someone
hold my heart and watch it burn
I’ll give it to someone, I’ll give it to someone special
I’ve got you here to stay
I can love you for a day
I thought you were someone special
gave you my heart
I’ll give it to someone, I’ll give it to someone
last christmas I gave you my heart
you gave it away
I’ll give it to someone, I’ll give it to someone

1. Jingle Bell Rock (Bobby Helms)

Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle bell rock
Jingle bells swing and jingle bells ring
Snowing and blowing up bushels of fun
Now the jingle hop has begun

Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle bell rock
Jingle bells chime in jingle bell time
Dancing and prancing in Jingle Bell Square
In the frosty air

What a bright time! It’s the right time
To rock the night away
Jingle bell time is a swell time
To go gliding in a one-horse sleigh

Giddy-up jingle horse
pick up your feet
Jingle around the clock
Mix and a-mingle in the jingling feet
That’s the jingle bell
That’s the jingle bell
That’s the jingle bell rock

Merry Christmas, Everyone! Good riddance 2009! 😀

Share

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Top 10 Christmas Songs of a Self-Confessed Christmas Addict

  1. DK

    hrhrhrhr, the “All I Want for Christmas” that I like is from the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s. hehe

    and I like “Sa May Bahay” if only because it reminds me of my childhood.

    Merry Christmas to you and Chemae 🙂

    • moonwalkerwiz

      Hi, Kath. 🙂

      I’ll try to find an MP3 and listen to it. I like the bouncy beat of Mariah’s version (makes me wanna dance, lol).

      Yeah, “Sa May Bahay” is great. I think I’m gonna make another list for Filipino Christmas songs. 😀

      Merry Christmas!

  2. desitara

    I think White Christmas should have been higher, nevertheless nice collection.

    BTW Here is something that will interest every carol lover.
    This Christmas render your voice to your favorite carol and jingle all the way with fabulous prizes. To know more follow this link: http://www.desitara.com/talent/contest/Carol+Singing

  3. Chemae

    SEO-rich blog entry! Hahaha 😀

Leave a Reply

