“Dream A Little Dream of Me” by Artie Abrams

This song Artie sang on Glee just plucks my heart strings like no other song I’ve heard recently. Something in the dumb innocence, hopelessness and romanticism of this pre-World War II song makes me want to fall in love like Romeo or Spike Spiegel or Yoon Soo-hyuk (Nevermind who they are, just know that they are some of the craziest romantics I’ve ever seen). I am convinced that love, in its pure hallucinogenic potency, is contained in this very simple song. Call me the god of cheese but, man, if I hear this song playing in the background, I might kiss the first girl I meet. Slap in the face or not.

“Dream A Little Dream of Me”

LYRICS

Stars shining bright above you

Night breezes seem to whisper

I love you

Birds singin’ in the sycamore tree

Dream a little dream of me

Say “nighty night” and kiss me

Just hold me tight and tell me

You’ll miss me.

While I’m alone and blue as can be

Dream a little dream of me

Stars fading but I linger on..

Dear

Still craving your kiss

I’m longing to linger ’til dawn..

Dear

Just saying this

Sweet dreams ’til sun beams find you

Sweet dreams that leave our worries behind you.

But in your dreams, whatever they be

Dream a little dream of me

Stars fading but I linger on dear

Still craving your kiss

I’m longing to linger ’til dawn

Dear

Just saying this..

Sweet dreams ’til sun beams find you

Sweet dreams that leave our worries behind you

But in your dreams. whatever they be

Dream a little dream of me

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

