Two Trick Pony

I invited her to come even though I knew there’s no way in hell she would. It was just something I had to do to prove to myself that I don’t run away in the face of inevitability and impossibility. I tend to be exaggerated like that.

But then she said she would come and I was glad even though I didn’t really believe her–and that’s not being pessimistic, but realistic of me. And then, of course, she changed her mind and she didn’t come. And I said that it was ok. But of course it wasn’t; nobody who ever said he was ok was really ok. Far from it, really.

And how could I feel ok when it was written from the very start that all my hopes and dreams would come crashing down if she didn’t come? I tend to be exaggerated like that.

2 Trick Pony
By Sandwich

I want to move on
Not realizing I was moving too slow
Tried to hang on
But there was nothing left for me to hold

It’s such a shame that you can’t be with me tonight
I’m spinnin’ ’round in cycles
Hope you change your mind
Before the show is over
I look around, it’s you I thought I’d find

Been on standby
Not realizing I was waiting too long
Instant replay
But there was nothing I can do about it

Still in denial
I can’t believe that you can do this to me
No lights ahead
I’ve been looking forward but I could not see

I have been waiting for you all night
Under the glow of the satellite

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Two Trick Pony

  1. I didn’t realize how apt the lyrics were until you wrote them down.

  2. They’re perfect in a bad way.

Leave a Reply

